Kachler Collects Senior CLASS Award First Team All-American Honors

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – After nearly two months of voting from Division I baseball coaches, media and fans, UNF baseball’s Alex Kachler was named to the 2021 Senior CLASS Award Baseball First Team All-American squad as announced Friday, June 18.

Kachler is one of five NCAA DI baseball student-athletes selected to the first team, while Kentucky’s T.J. Collett was named the 2021 Senior CLASS Award winner.

For the full list of honorees, click here.

Kachler became the first student-athlete in ASUN Baseball history to be named ASUN Player of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year in the same season. 

The Lithia, Fla., native was named ASUN Player of the Week on two occasions, including after his first week at the Division I level after transferring in from Division III Methodist University. 

The graduate student hit .356 with 40 runs, 13 doubles, eight home runs, 38 RBI and a .569 slugging percentage. He set a program record by hitting safely in eight consecutive at-bats, while also tying a UNF DI single game record for hits by going 5-for-5 against Jacksonville April 25.

About the Senior CLASS Award
The award, chosen by a vote of Division I baseball coaches, national baseball media and fans, is given annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I baseball.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: classroom, community, character, and competition.

2021 Senior CLASS Award Baseball First Team All-Americans

Darren Baker, California

T.J. Collett, Kentucky
Alex Kachler, North Florida

Evan Russell, Tennessee

Rankin Woley, Auburn

2021 Senior CLASS Award Baseball Second Team All-Americans

Scotty Dubrule, Mississippi State

Brett Harris, Gonzaga

Jake Mulholland, Oregon State

Zach Pettway, UCLA

Andy Thomas, Baylor


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *